Visiting an Old Favorite & Trying New Things

This morning was AWESOME! Why, do you ask? Because I started off my morning with a Lithe Method class. If you’ve been a looooong time reader of the blog, then you know that I used to do Lithe Method religiously. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I did a blog post on it here. But, Lithe is expensive $$$$$ and I just couldn’t swing the price tag anymore, so I stopped and instead moved on to Tone It Up and then added in Kayla Itsines’s BBG and Ballet Beautiful.

Processed with Moldiv

My new trainers

But last night I had A MOMENT. I’ve been running around town looking for a dress to wear to my friend’s wedding, and I have hated how I look in EVERYTHING. I was feeling especially low about myself last night and decided that it was time to make a change.

First, I decided to do the Tone It Up 7 Day Slim Down from the nutrition plan. This is a pretty rigid diet plan, but you see extreme results. Last time I did it, I lost 4 lbs. I know that it’s not always healthy to lose that much weight that quickly (and the plan mirrors that message) but I have been at a weight loss plateau (and an eating funk) for about a month now, and I decided it was time to recommit!

Next, I started looking up local fitness classes I could sign up for. I usually workout from home. I have everything I need and it’s nice to not have to travel to get my workout in. Plus the best part is that I don’t pay any membership fees (save for the monthly fee I am paying now to try out Ballet Beautiful’s full streaming library, which I am LOVING).

The things that I don’t always like about working out from home are:

1. Needing to be quiet– I live on a 3rd floor apartment and I don’t want my downstairs neighbor to completely hate me (though he’s been known to play his music at unreasonably loud levels, so it would even out 😉 )

2. Not always pushing myself hard enough– I usually push myself harder when I am in front of a class of people.

So I decided to sign up for a few classes around town to give me that extra workout edge. First, I signed up for a Flywheel class because your first class is free! Next I signed up for a Body Cycle class because your first ride is free there too! Double yay!

Then I perused a few other Philadelphia studios and decided that I would definitely be trying Thrive Pilates and Focus Barre and Yoga eventually. But then I found my way back to Lithe.

I decided to scope out their workout schedule and saw that my favorite instructor, Meredith, was teaching one of my favorite classes, Freestyle, at my favorite time to take a class, 7:00AM. Plus, where I am living now is a 5 minute walk away from Lithe! I wavered about paying the (steep to me) $22 single class fee, but eventually decided to treat myself to it.

And I’m so glad I did.

It felt great getting back into the Lithe studio today. The class this morning was a fun, challenging, toning, dance-y workout that combined two of my favorite classes:

Cinch– which had my legs shaking and my abs burning

Barlesque– a sexy, high cardio dance/toning hybrid

I was dripping sweat by the end of class and felt reinvigorated. There’s nothing quite like a great workout to make you want to eat well and stay active for the rest of the day!

I won’t be a Lithe regular again anytime soon (my paycheck wouldn’t permit that anyway). But it’s great knowing that every so often, I can splurge, and treat myself to a class. It’s also great knowing that I still got it 😉

Do you have any studios or classes that you treat yourself to?

4 thoughts on “Visiting an Old Favorite & Trying New Things

  1. TREAT YO’SELF! Good for you 🙂 I treat myself to yoga every once in a while, and it’s awesome. I also think after Legally Blond is done, I’m gonna treat myself to a 5 pack of classes at Rev cycling to bust my ass. I’ve been “trying to lose weight” unsuccessfully for over a year, so obviously something needs to change.

    Like

Share your thoughts!

