Recipe Pick: Cauli-power Fettaccini Alfredo by Oh She Glows

untitled

Picture from Oh She Glows blog

Do you ever find a recipe online and go, “Oh, if that actually tastes good, that would be amazing!”? Because that’s exactly what happened to me when I found this recipe for cauliflower alfredo from Oh She Glows (a crazy fantastic vegan food blog if you didn’t know!)

The ingredient list is fairly simple, and you probably have most of the ingredients laying around your house. Maybe you don’t have nutritional yeast in your pantry (but you should) but everything else is pretty plain old simple.

I made this recipe a week ago and instantly fell in love with it. Alfredo is a bit of a “fear food” for me because I used to eat it by the pound when I was a not-so-in-shape kid and now that I know just how bad it can be for you, I generally avoid it.

This cauliflower Alfredo is obviously waaaaaaaaay better than full-fat cream’s Alfredo sauce, but let me tell you, it still tastes AMAZING!

Here’s my sad, un-stylized version. I was just so hungry and had no pretty accoutrements to add to it! Plus, I was STARVING.

cauliflower

Full disclosure: I did un-veganize this recipe because it calls for unflavored almond milk, but I didn’t have any so I used 1% milk instead. Honestly though, I can’t see that change having a huge difference in flavor. I did add extra salt to the recipe because I felt like it brought out the flavors more.

Because I was scared this pasta might just take like stinky cauliflower, I used regular linguine noodles, but now that I know how good it is, I totally feel comfortable using a brown rice or whole wheat or quinoa or zoodle noodle instead!

In fact, let’s just go crazy! I bet this sauce would taste fantastic on chicken (also not vegan 😉 ) fish or some grilled portabellos. The world is your oyster!

Once again, you can find this Oh She Glows recipe here!

Oh PS, my boyfriend got home late from work the night I made this (with 1/2 a box of linguine) and proceeded to EAT THE WHOLE THING! Thank GOD this was a healthy version of Alfredo!

Disclaimer: Of course Oh She Glows did NOT ask me to write this review or anything like that. I simply love finding a good recipe and sharing it!

2 thoughts on “Recipe Pick: Cauli-power Fettaccini Alfredo by Oh She Glows

Share your thoughts!

